Banstead Hall School, Banstead, Surrey
On 19th April, 1937, an Approved School for Boys began operation at Banstead Hall, Brighton Road, Banstead, Surrey. The premises accommodated up to 100 boys 'above school age' and below 17 years at their date of admission. The School, which was run by Surrey County Council, became an establishment for 'selected cases likely to benefit from short term training of from six to twelve months'.
On 14th October, 1949, Banstead House, a nearby property on Brighton Road, was added to the School premises.
By the 1960s, the School had become an 'ordinary' Approved School for 73 Senior Boys aged between between their 15th and 17th birthdays.
In 1973, the School became a Community Home with Education (CHE) but closed in March 1975.
The buildings were demolished in around 1980.
Note: many repositories impose a closure period of up to 100 years for records identifying individuals. Before travelling a long distance, always check that the records you want to consult will be available.
- Surrey History Centre, 130 Goldsworth Road, Woking, Surrey GU21 6ND. Holdings include: Admission registers (1937-74); Punishment books (1960-73); Log books (1940-71); Minute book (1937-39); Photographs of the buildings; etc.
- The National Archives, Kew, Richmond, Surrey, TW9 4DU. Has various reports and other documents.
- Hyland, Jim Yesterday's Answers: Development and Decline of Schools for Young Offenders (1994, Whiting and Birch)
- Millham, S, Bullock, R, and Cherrett, P After Grace - Teeth: a comparative study of the residential experience of boys in Approved Schools (1975, Chaucer Publishing)
- The Therapeutic Care Journal — has a number of articles relating to Approved Schools.
Except where indicated, this page () © Peter Higginbotham. Contents may not be reproduced without permission.