St Vincent's School, Formby, near Liverpool, Lancashire
During the Second World War, St Vincent's Approved School at Beacon Lane, Liverpool, was evacuated to a Ministry of Labour Centre at Capel Curig, near Bettws-y-Coed, North Wales.
In 1949, the School relocated to Shaftesbury House, a former private lunatic asylum, at Raven Meols Lane, Formby, near Liverpool. The establishment was formally certified for operation on 27th April, 1949, and could accommodate 47 boys, aged under 11½ at their time of admission. The Sisters of Charity, who had run the School since 1861, continued to be in charge until their finally departure in 1965.
In 1973, the School became a Community Home with Education (CHE) run in conjunction with Liverpool County Borough Council. The establishment was subsequently known as St Vincent's Children's Centre.
The property no longer exists and the modern housing of Harebell Close now covers on the site.
Note: many repositories impose a closure period of up to 100 years for records identifying individuals.
- The National Archives, Kew, Richmond, Surrey, TW9 4DU. Holds a number of inspection reports and other documents relating to the School.
- Hyland, Jim Yesterday's Answers: Development and Decline of Schools for Young Offenders (1994, Whiting and Birch)
- Millham, S, Bullock, R, and Cherrett, P After Grace - Teeth: a comparative study of the residential experience of boys in Approved Schools (1975, Chaucer Publishing)
- None noted at present.
Except where indicated, this page () © Peter Higginbotham. Contents may not be reproduced without permission.