St Gilbert's School for Boys, Brandon, Suffolk / Worcestershire

On 14th September, 1939, St Gilbert's Approved School for Roman Catholic Junior Boys was formally certified for operation in premises at Butley, near Woodbridge, Suffolk. The School, run by Brothers of Christian Schools, received boys aged from 12 to 14 years at the date of entry.

In 1940, the School relocated to a former Ministry of Labour Instructional Centre at High Lodge, Brandon, Suffolk, where it was re-certified on to operate from 28th June.

Another move came in 1945, when the School took up residence at Waresley House, Hartlebury, Worcestershire. The premises were certified for use on 8th February of that year, with accommodation for 120 boys.

Former St Gilbert's School for Boys, Hartlebury, 2013. © Peter Higginbotham

Former St Gilbert's School for Boys, Hartlebury, 2013. © Peter Higginbotham

In 1973, the School became a Community Home with Education (CHE) run in conjunction with Worcestershire County Council.

The Hartlebury property is now in private residential use.

High Lodge, Brandon, later became High Lodge Hostel. The building no longer survives.

Records

The National Archives, Kew, Richmond, Surrey, TW9 4DU. Has various reports and other documents.
  • No records noted at present for this establishment — any information welcome.

Bibliography

  • Hyland, Jim Yesterday's Answers: Development and Decline of Schools for Young Offenders (1994, Whiting and Birch)
  • Millham, S, Bullock, R, and Cherrett, P After Grace - Teeth: a comparative study of the residential experience of boys in Approved Schools (1975, Chaucer Publishing)
  • None noted at present.