Finnart House School for Jewish Boys, Weybridge, Surrey
Finnart House was opened in 1937 at Oatlands Drive, Weybridge, as a Junior Approved School primarily used for boys from the Jewish community. Since its founding in 1900, the School had previously been based in Hayes, Middlesex. However, a decline in admissions had led to its moving to the smaller premises in Weybridge. As the decline continued, the School began to accept Anglican boys and by 1965 there were only 3 Jews amongst the then 65 inmates. At their time of admission, the boys were normally aged under 14 if Jewish, or between 10½ and 12 if non-Jewish.
In around 1973, the school became a Community Home with Education (CHE) under the control of Hammersmith London Borough Council. The School is believed to have closed during the late 1970s and the buildings replaced by modern housing.
The proceeds from the sale of the site were used to set up the Finnart House School Trust which provides financial support for needy Jewish children and students.
Note: many repositories impose a closure period of up to 100 years for records identifying individuals. Before travelling a long distance, always check that the records you want to consult will be available.
- The National Archives, Kew, Richmond, Surrey, TW9 4DU. Holds Minute Books (1939-1973). These contain personal information relating to pupils and are subject to a 65-year closure period.
- Hyland, Jim Yesterday's Answers: Development and Decline of Schools for Young Offenders (1994, Whiting and Birch)
- Millham, S, Bullock, R, and Cherrett, P After Grace - Teeth: a comparative study of the residential experience of boys in Approved Schools (1975, Chaucer Publishing)
- Finnart House School Trust
- The Therapeutic Care Journal — has a number of articles relating to Approved Schools.
Except where indicated, this page () © Peter Higginbotham. Contents may not be reproduced without permission.